- Dunklin County Recorder of Deeds
- Marriage License
How & Where to Apply
Marriage licenses are issued from 8:30 to 11:30 a.m. and 1 to 4 p.m. Monday through Friday excluding holidays. The license is valid for 30 days from the date of issuance and the marriage must be performed in the State of Missouri only!
Both parties must appear together at the Recorder’s Office with the required identification. However the provision can be waived for certain applicants who qualify under state and federal statutes (incarcerated, military duty assigned outside the State of Missouri or disabled under ADA). Please contact our office for a packet and instructions.
Effective Aug. 28, 2018: Senate Bill 655 prohibits marriage licenses from being issued if either party is under 16 years of age. Additionally, the legislation prohibits the marriage of any individual age 21 or older to anyone age 16 or 17. Custodial parental consent will still be required for applicants 16 or 17 years of age to marry within the constraints of this new law and these individuals will be required to produce a certified copy of their birth certificate. All other marriage applicants will be required to provide proof of age through a certified copy of their birth certificate, passport, or other government-issued identification.
The nonrefundable marriage license fee is $46 either cash (exact change) or debit / credit card (bank charges an additional $2).
Marriages can be solemnized by any minister, either active or retired, who is in good standing with any church or synagogue in the State of Missouri. Marriages may also be solemnized, without compensation, by any judge, including a municipal judge. Marriages may also be solemnized by a religious society, religious institution, or religious organization of the State of Missouri, according to the regulations and customs of the society, institution or organization, when either party to the marriage to solemnized is a member of such society, institution or organization. There are no justices of the peace in Missouri.
You are responsible for delivering your marriage license to the person officiating at your marriage. This person must complete the license, have two witnesses sign and return it to the Recorder’s office within 15 days after the ceremony.